Walking in the Woods, Solitude

1. Walking in the woods.  There’re a few hiking trails near me and I spent a few hours yesterday just walking and looking and sitting.  There are a lot of really tall pine trees, so the area off the beaten path is soft from all the fallen needles.  Even though I could hear cars if I stopped walking and listened, I still felt like I was deliciously removed from the craziness of normal life.  And I peed outside twice.  🙂 Walking in the woods is connected to happy thing number 2: solitude

2.   A few months ago, I was reading a book on silence by Anne D. LeClaire, Listening Below the Noise, and came across some great quotes.  One that stuck with me is by the Sufi poet, Hafiz.

Don’t surrender your loneliness
so quickly.
Let it cut more deep.

In the book, Anne makes the point that there’s a difference between solitude and loneliness. This shouldn’t be so revolutionary to me, but it is.

Leave a Reply

